Disney is Disappointing Me

Published June 21, 2012 by Laitie

I’m sitting here watching Shake it Up, and I can’t help but think about that gif I saw with a scene from Raven and a scene from Shake it Up. The caption begins with: When Disney go from this…

Raven’s scene saying something like: In case you haven’t noticed, people come in all different shapes and sizes. And all are beautiful.

Caption: To this…

Shake it Up scene saying something like: Oh, you’re so cute I could eat you up! That is, if I ate.

~End description

I can’t get over how right that is. This show is obsessing over jokes about bodies. “He looks taller on TV,” “Cici has no figure,” “the famous model doesn’t eat,” etc. These types of jokes do not belong on pre-teen and child hotspots like Disney Channel. Of course it’s sending bad messages to kids. It’s just telling them the same thing as everything else: looks matter, and you have to look perfect, or else you’re a laughing stock. It’s making a mockery of eating disorders like anorexia and bulimia.

When was Raven’s body mocked? Or any of her friends’? I don’t care if Shake it Up is about dancing, Disney should be about following your dreams no matter who you are, where you’re from, what you look like, etc. But instead, it’s going for some cheap laughs and intense psychological damage that they don’t have to deal with. This is unacceptable.

I used to love Disney so much, even with its imperfections that everyone just loves pointing out and ranting about. But these horrible messages they’re sending out, now, are getting ridiculous. I can’t believe even Disney has stooped so low, now. I’m gravely disappointed.

One comment on “Disney is Disappointing Me

  • I agree with you 100%. And I feel the same way about Degrassi. I grew up watching Jr. High, then High, and then in my 20’s watched The Next Generation. But this last year I had to stop watching. It use to be about regular looking kids with real problems. Now it has just turned into gorgeous model types that are all whiners. Disney’s shows have all gone the same way. It’s too bad that these are the messages that kids get nowadays.

  • Leave a Reply

