E for Etymology

Published April 5, 2013 by Laitie

I love etymology. It makes me so happy to learn where our words came from. Especially because English is so diverse. It has words with Latin, Greek, and tons of other origins. All our words are so different. Nouns can end in consonants (couch) or vowels (sofa). There are absolutely no gender rules. I never understood gender rules. They kinda interfere with my whole feminist outlook.

I kinda wanna watch Akeelah and the Bee just to learn some etymology. And seeing the fascinating connection between words’ origins and their spellings. Because, as we all know, English is a language of difficult spelling.

I hope this means I really am a writer. Because I love words so much. Just…so much love for words. What do you love about words?

2 comments on “E for Etymology

  • I love words, being a poet – you have to! I also enjoy looking up their provenance in Chambers. In fact, I like dictionaries of all sorts – I have about 10 rhyming ones for example! English is a fabulous language because of all the synonyms we have – shades of meaning can be very precise. 40,000 words at least – compared to the French for example who only have 10,000!

    Good luck with the rest of the challenge – I’m doing animal poems.. and facts… er, and often a drawing, I like to make things hard for myself.

    Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

  • Leave a Reply

