True Christianity

Published June 7, 2013 by Laitie

    I may not be the most devout Christian, nor the most skeptical atheist, but I witnessed something this morning that made my questioning mind be put at ease.
    I’m spending the weekend at my best friend’s house, because she lives four hours away from me. It’s the first time we’ve seen each other in over a year, and the first time I’ve had a chance to really get to know her family. Last night was my first night here. So I didn’t know what to expect when I came upstairs this morning.
    There at the kitchen table sat my friend’s mother, reading her Christian books and praying.
    I don’t know how I feel about Christianity. On the surface it’s a great religion, but there’s the little things about it and about religion itself that gives room for skepticism. We all know this. Many people spend their lives trying to disprove Christianity.
    But something about this devout woman spending her morning with her religion that just gave me an indescribable feeling of peace.
    People say religion gives people a reason to be kind an generous. And that’s wrong, because you should be kind and generous out of the kindness of your heart. But looking at this family, it’s quite obvious that that is not how they “use” their religion.
    Most of all, religion is used for hope. What are we without hope? Hope that the sick will heal. Hope that there is some place better for the dying to go to. Hope heals.
    The kindness that this family has shown me is not because it will help them get to heaven. You can tell genuine kindness, and this is it. They are kind to me because they have been brought up to love. Brought up believing that every human being is a brother or sister. They have been taught to love their brothers and sisters.
    I don’t know enough about other religions to make the following statement about them. But Christianity, more than anything, is about love and family.
    In the Christian’s mind, God is our Father. He knows what’s best for us, even if we don’t agree with him at the time. Sometimes, he even needs to discipline. Whether death is a form of discipline or not, however, is a debate I don’t want to get into right now.
    God does what is best for -you-. For example, the family I’m staying with had a friend from church come over to fix their dryer and he told me this story. When he was young, his father fell sick. He was in the hospital for five weeks. For four weeks, it was this man’s hope that his father was going to make it that kept him going. Then, he prepared himself and his family for his father’s passing. He said, “God did what was best for my father, not what was best for me.” Lots of times, our needs conflict. But Christians believe that God will never do something to you that you cannot handle.
    I don’t know how I feel about that statement. After everything I’ve been through, I fell into depression. I also have some really bad anxiety and the worst temper I’ve ever had before. I feel like this is all a sign of me not getting through. I need man-made medications just to get through the day. But at the same time, I’m having the time of my life at my best friend’s house right now. So, perhaps I can handle this. I don’t know.
    The main thing I wanted to say? This is how true Christians live: love your Father, love your mother, love your brothers and sisters. Trust in your family. They may let you down time and time again, but you have nothing without them. Have faith in your family, and in the end, they will come through for you.

One comment on “True Christianity

  • I’ve always felt that the statement “God will not give you more than you can handle” is a line of BS! It’s right along the saying “God helps those who help themselves” both of which are unbiblical. (some people quote this as a bible verse, which it is not.)

    Our whole entire lives are more than we can handle. But, with Him? Now that’s different.

    God will not give you more than you can take with Him holding your hand and being an active presence in your life.

    Religion has no meaning other than one makes of it. Faith is a relationship and that is what defines your actions. Think of how you treat people based on your relationship with them.

    I love your honest and your post. Hope you enjoy your stay 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

