I Need to Talk About Work Again…

Published November 21, 2013 by Laitie

Because with the holidays coming up, I think ya’ll should get to know a little about the life of the cashier you’re yelling at over the counter.

First, I’ll talk about the use (or non-use) of our phones. If you’re like me, you work full time, and you work days. Unlike you, I can’t get a hold of my doctor during the day. Oh, I can call him on my breaks? He’s not AVAILABLE whenever I need him to be. He has other patients. And some things just can’t wait for my next day off.

I have depression and we’re screwing around with my meds cuz they’re not working very well. I don’t want to be miserable every single day of my ten days of work in a row. Yes, ten days of work in a row. And I don’t think you want a miserable cashier cashing you out. So, how am I supposed to get a hold of my doctor to fix this problem? Exactly. I can’t. So, I’ma be miserable already.

The other thing in the forefront of my mind is waiting time. Take a moment and LOOK AT THE TRAFFIC inside and outside the stores/mall. Yeah. There’s a lotta people shopping right now. So don’t come up to me and complain about the waiting time when I’ve been working my ass off cashing out a million people before you.

Do NOT interrupt my pitches. It’s rude as fuck and I’m sick of people not even bothering to LISTEN to the fucking AWESOMENESS I’m offering. And actually LISTEN to what’s being offered. I can’t tell you how many times people have NOT listened to me and then yelled at me when they got something they didn’t want. Also, if you refuse everything, you’re screwing me over. So, thanks.

GET OFF THE PHONE!!!~ Important or not, you don’t see me on my phone when you come up, do you? No, you don’t. Because it’s rude as fuck to put yourself in a situation where you’re supposed to have a conversation with someone and you’re on the phone. YES, when you come up to the register, you’ve put yourself in a situation in which you’re supposed to have a conversation with the cashier.

Prices are not much of an issue. Signs get left out too late, but my store will then use the price on that sign for you. So, yeah.

Price matching is not often an issue, either. But jsyk, most stores will not price match something on Thanksgiving/Black Friday. It’s very rude to think that that would be expected.

I’m not your servant. Stop talking to me like one.

That’s all I can think of right now. If I think of more, I’ll post again. So, yeah. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

